elisa_rolle (elisa_rolle) wrote,
elisa_rolle
elisa_rolle

100 Artists of the Male Figure: A Contemporary Anthology of Painting, Drawing, and Sculpture

Coming out end of the month, 100 Artists of the Male Figure collects many of the artists I have already featured here on my LiveJournal, and many more.

Images of the classical female figure are more prevalent in the contemporary figurative art world, as the nude male has been shunned as too potent or treated as a sex symbol. This book bravely showcases works by male and female artists from around the world that focus on this classic subject. Painting, drawings, and sculptures display broad and varied styles, including portraiture, studies, Pop Art, abstract, and photorealism. Read each artist's approach to the male figure through candid personal statements. Nearly 400 works capture masculine beauty in many styles. This resource brings balance to the figurative art world and is an ideal reference for artists, curators, dealers, students, and collectors.
 
Hardcover: 224 pages
Publisher: Schiffer Publishing, Ltd. (February 28, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0764336932
ISBN-13: 978-0764336935
Amazon: 100 Artists of the Male Figure: A Contemporary Anthology of Painting, Drawing, and Sculpture

They collected artists from all over the United States from New York to Hawaii, artists from Canada, Mexico, China, Iran, Australia, Netherlands, England, Scotland, France, Denmark, Germany, Japan and Spain that will be represented in this first volume.

The editor, E. Gibbons, continues to seek out artists and welcomes links to their pages so that he can add them to his wish-list for volume 2 and other projects he has planned; like a quarterly magazine/journal that would feature artists in depth, tie in to a historical artist and more.

Below is a list of the 100 artists who have been selected for the first book:


1 "Lazy Afternoon", 2009, oil/canvas, 20" x 16", Jack Balas www.JackBalas.com

2 Daniel Barkley


3 "Same Team", oil, 46" x 48", Davidd Batalon

4 Brian Bednarek
5 Doug Blanchard


6 "The Fortress", Francisco Cabas


7 "Patron Saint of Parrots", 30" x 40", Copperleaf, Acrylic on Canvas, Tony de Carlo www.tonydecarlo.com

8 William Cash


9 Jean Chaîney

10 Jenny Chi


11 James Childs


12 "Reclining Boy", Paul Chisholm

13 Peter Colstee
14 Steve Cronkite
15 Andre Durand
16 Tom Durham


17 "Guilty Pleasures", William Eicholtz


18 "Progress?", acrylic and collage on masonite, 24" x 48", 2010, Darren Engleman www.darrenengleman.com

19 Jan Esmann
20 Joeseph Fanelli


21 Portrait of Peter Hartmann, Pencil and watercolor on paper, 14 x 20 inch, 2010, Robert Fontanelli

22 Tom Foral


23 "Angel by the Sea", Ted Fusby www.tedfusby.com


24 Alexandra G.


25 Victor Gadino

26 Bob Gherardi


27 Gilberto Giardini www.gilbertogiardini.com/art

28 E. Gibbons
29 Ron Griswold


30 "He just stood there...", Maurice Heerdink www.mauriceheerdink.com

31 William Heldens

32 Wes Hempel


33 "The scent of...", Cauro Hige http://cauro.web.fc2.com/


34 Self Portrait, "Heart In My Hand", mixed media, 40 x 30 inches, 2010, Michael Hinkle

35 Holtquist
36 Sabin Howard
37 Gerard Huber
38 Daniel Hughes
39 Mohsen Irani
40 Jason Jones
41 Tom Jones
42 John Woodrow Kelley


43 From the series A Midsummer Night's Dream..., Mathieu Laca

44 Rob de Lange


45 Jeanine Leclaire

46 Tai Lin
47 Zach Logan


48 Instant 1 Mixed media, Chris Lopez


49 Daniel Malisky www.danielmalisky.com

50 Joachim Marx
51 Jordan Mejias
52 Li Mingshun


53 Talachas domingueras,Oleo/tela Oil/canvas, 2000, Sebastian Moreno


54 Michael Newberry

55 William Newhouse


56 Candace Nicol www.candacenicol.com

57 Noel
58 Justin Ogilvie


59 "Hades with Persephone 5", Andrew Ogus

60 Jose Parra
61 Campbell Paxton
62 Miriam Perez
63 Deni Ponty


64 Jorge Posada www.jorgeposada-art.com

65 Benoit Prevot


66 "A Map of My Heart", 42" x 36", oils, Grego Rachko www.gregorachko.com

67 Joseph Radoccia
68 Harvey Redding


69 "Talking Point", Oil on canvas 48" x 72" x 1 3/4", 2010, Fernando Reyes www.freyesart.com


70 Miguel Reyes


71 "Size Matters, Starring Jack Mackenroth", Painting, Paul Richmond www.paulrichmondstudio.com 


72 "Green Chair", oil on canvas, 4ft x 5ft, Michael Rogovsky

73 Robert Rore
74 Lou Ros
75 Alex Roulette


76 Tim Sandys www.timsandys.com


77 "Rapture", Philip Shadbolt

78 Robert Sherer
79 Doug Simonson
80 Trevor Southey


81 "View from the Landing", Richard Stabbert http://rstabbert.com/

82 Barry Steely
83 Matthew Stradling
84 Jacques Sultana
85 Richard Taddei


86 "Apollo in black pants and sandals", James Thacker


87 "Tryst", 42" x 50", oil on canvas,1998, Michael Tice


88 "Michael Lucas Portrait (Detail)", Oil On Canvas, 24" by 36", 2008, George Towne http://www.georgetowneart.com/


89 James Tyler www.tylersculpture.com


90 Kirk Vaughn-Robinson www.kirkvaughn.com


91 "Drill", 16"x8", linocut, Joseph Vorgity www.josephvorgity.com

92 Steve Walker


93 Richard Wallace http://www.richardwallace.org/

94 Scott Waters
95 Court Watson
96 Ross Watson
97 Patrick Webb
98 Carolyn Weltman
99 Marvin Werlin
100 Bob Ziering

More picture here: http://www.facebook.com/pages/100-Artists-of-the-Male-Figure/161439509859#!/photo_search.php?oid=161439509859&view=all
Tags: art
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for friends only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments