June 26th, 2014

andrew potter

2014 Rainbow Awards Submission: Fan Fiction Fan

Gay Biography / Memoir
Fan Fiction Fan (Pixel-Stained: a documentary memoir of the electronic publishing revolution in gay genre fiction) by Dusk Peterson
Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press (September 14, 2013)
Amazon Kindle: Fan Fiction Fan

A decade before e-books and self-publishing shook up the publishing industry, an author faced a dilemma: When you've written stories in a genre that is rarely published, what do you do?

At the beginning of 2002, Dusk Peterson (a journalist, history writer, and aspiring professional novelist) stumbled across the fan fiction community, where tens of thousands of readers and writers enjoyed gay genre fiction, which publishers rarely published.

Peterson's Muse didn't want to write fan fiction. That didn't matter. Gleefully, Peterson began posting male/male stories with original fantasy settings and characters to "slash" fan fiction e-mail lists, at the same plunging into fanficcers' world of online fiction, "songvids," conventions, celebrations of movie premieres, and endless discussions of literature, history, sexuality, and ethics. In the process, Peterson became part of a community that was taking advantage of the Internet's power in order to distribute stories, art, and videos that couldn't be professionally published.

This first volume in the Pixel-Stained series includes reminiscences, stories, and art from yaoi author/artist mdbl; Steve Berman, founder of the gay and lesbian speculative fiction publishing company Lethe Press; J. M. Snyder, founder of the queer fiction press JMS Books; and m/m romance author Emily Veinglory.

Charities Donation program progress:
25$ YouthCare: www.youthcare.org/
25$ Odyssey Youth Center: www.odysseyyouth.org/
25$ Lancaster LGBT Center: http://www.centralpalgbtcenter.org/
25$ WayGay: http://www.waygay.org/
25$ Out Youth: outyouth.org/
25$ Terrence Higgins Trust: www.tht.org.uk/
30$ Covenant: www.covenanthouseno.org/
50$ PFLAG: community.pflag.org/
50$ Lambert House: www.lamberthouse.org/
75$ Ruth Ellis Center: http://www.ruthelliscenter.org/
75$ CARE: careprogram.org/
75$ Inland Northwest LGBT Center: www.thelgbtcenter.org/
100$ The Center Colorado: http://www.glbtcolorado.org/
105$ Moveable Feast: http://www.mfeast.org/
150$ GLYS: http://www.glyswny.org/
160$ UCAN: www.ucanchicago.org/
175$ Point Foundation: www.pointfoundation.org/
205$ The Trevor Project: www.thetrevorproject.org/
210$ Lambda Legal: www.lambdalegal.org/
317$ Galop: www.galop.org.uk/
372$ COLORS: www.colorsyouth.org/
437$ Lost-n-Found Youth: www.lost-n-found.org/
450$ SAGE: giveto.sageusa.org/
815$ Ali Forney Center: www.aliforneycenter.org/
872$ Other Funds
TOTAL: 4873$*

* more than 150$ is a direct donation from a supporter of the Rainbow Awards who isn't submitting; while some authors were more than generous, arriving to donate 5 times the suggested amount, being the submission fee a non mandatory and voluntary direct donation, we were struggling to raise the same amount as last year and there is who decided to cover part of it. I thank you for all you are doing, and if you wish to donate to the above links, please drop me a note with your donation and I will update the total.

2014 Rainbow Awards Guidelines: reviews-and-ramblings.dreamwidth.org/4162490.html

This journal is friends only. This entry was originally posted at http://reviews-and-ramblings.dreamwidth.org/4365970.html. If you are not friends on this journal, Please comment there using OpenID.