September 9th, 2017

andrew potter

2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Daring and Decorum (A Highwayman Novel) Lawrence Hogue


1)This adaptation of the famous poem, The Highwayman, is a historical romance between two women, one a local pastor's daughter and the other the dashing thief who robs nobles and uses these gains to help the poor.  The author presents historical details convincingly, describes a small rural town vividly, and provides the forward plot as well as the backstory in a manner that holds the reader's attention.


Daring and Decorum (A Highwayman Novel) Lawrence Hogue
Lesbian - Historical Romance
File Size: 706 KB
Print Length: 252 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Supposed Crimes (August 1, 2017)
Publication Date: August 1, 2017
Amazon: Daring and Decorum (A Highwayman Novel) Lawrence Hogue

Elizabeth Collington, the twenty-year-old daughter of a country vicar, longs for more than the circumscribed life of her 18th-century Devonshire village. When a highwayman steals a kiss along with her mother's necklace – provoking feelings of which her father would never approve – she suddenly has a secret no one must know. But the highwayman also has a secret: "he" is actually a woman.

Will the story of the highwayman's past – complete with a tyrannical husband, a gloomy castle, and a daring escape into London's underworld – persuade Elizabeth to abandon propriety in favor of passion? In the end, can the lovers make an independent life in a world where women are little more than property, evading both the redcoats and the jealous young lord who would tear them apart?

Daring and Decorum is comedy of manners wrapped around a gothic tale; a mashup of Jane Austen, Alfred Noyes' poem The Highwayman, Robin Hood, and Moll Cutpurse; and a passionate case for the freedom to love whom one chooses, Daring and Decorum: A Highwayman Novel should appeal to fans of Ellen Kushner's Riverside series, Emma Donoghue's Life Mask, and Michelle Martin's Pembroke Park (billed as the first lesbian Regency).

This journal is friends only. This entry was originally posted at http://reviews-and-ramblings.dreamwidth.org/5102090.html. If you are not friends on this journal, Please comment there using OpenID.
andrew potter

2017 Rainbow Awards Honoable Mention: The difference between Blake Moreno


1) I really liked this book. Difficult subject matter, but so well-handled. Had me holding my breath that Wade's and Russ's relationship would work out despite the obstacles. Warning, there are triggers.
2) This story is good but is not in any way a light read. It covers subjects that could be triggers for some readers. I love that the author was up front about this from the very beginning, as few authors are. The characters held my interest and I found myself wanting everything to work out well for them.
3) This is an excellent novel about the differences between BDSM based on trust and responsibility and non-consensual abuse. The author clearly understands the effects of trauma.


The difference between Blake Moreno
Gay - Erotica
Paperback: 286 pages
Publisher: Dark Inn (January 11, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1626227594
ISBN-13: 978-1626227590
Amazon: The difference between Blake Moreno

Wade Maguire and Russ Paulson are in love. After a year of passion and happiness, they’re buying a home and moving in together. Everything is rosy for them—until a jealous and insane ex from Wade’s past puts all of that to the test. After being kidnapped and tortured by his deranged former lover, Wade loses his ability to engage with his own sexuality or with Russ. With the help of a psychologist, EMDR therapy, and a sex plan, they work together to overcome the damage inflicted. In the process, they discover wells of love they’ve never known before. As passion is reborn and their sex life reignited, Wade realizes a need to re-experience certain events in Russ’s loving arms. For Wade, the difference between pain and pleasure is love, and the difference between rape and rough sex is consent.

Dark, and yet ultimately hopeful, this book contains many emotional and graphic sex scenes, as well as some scenes of torture. This book deals with rape and rape recovery. Proceed with care. Stand-alone with a happy ending. 78,000 words.

This journal is friends only. This entry was originally posted at http://reviews-and-ramblings.dreamwidth.org/5086261.html. If you are not friends on this journal, Please comment there using OpenID.