elisa_rolle (elisa_rolle) wrote,
elisa_rolle
elisa_rolle

Joel Derfner (born January 12, 1973)

JOEL DERFNER graduated from Harvard with a degree in linguistics. His work for the musical theater has been produced in London, New York, and various cities in between. In an attempt to become the gayest person ever, he took up knitting and got a job as a step aerobics instructor.

Further Readings:

Gay Haiku by Joel Derfner
Hardcover: 128 pages
Publisher: Crown Archetype (May 10, 2005)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 076791984X
ISBN-13: 978-0767919845
Amazon: Gay Haiku

Impossible to resist, this hilariously sassy and sweet collection of haiku turns the perilous sport of gay dating into pure poetry.

For hundreds of years, the Japanese haiku has been equated with peaceful contemplation and spiritual enlightenment. A delicate balance of rhythm and line, the haiku has provided countless readers with an appreciation of the changing of the seasons and the miracles of nature. Now, in Gay Haiku, readers can finally appreciate more important things—like the changing of boyfriends and the miracles of shopping.

Irresistible and irreverent, this collection of one hundred and ten witty and wicked short poems captures the many dating disasters of first-time author Joel Derfner. In a wonderfully fresh and original voice, Derfner shamelessly mines his personal life to send up such broad-ranging topics as gay pop culture, politics, family, sex, and, of course, home decorating.

Gay, straight, or undecided, readers will delight in Derfner’s dry sense of humor and unmistakable charm as he tackles the big questions of life.

Swish: My Quest to Become the Gayest Person Ever and What Ended Up Happening Instead by Joel Derfner
Paperback: 272 pages
Publisher: Broadway Books (June 16, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0767924312
ISBN-13: 978-0767924313
Amazon (Paperback): Swish: My Quest to Become the Gayest Person Ever and What Ended Up Happening Instead

A hilarious and deeply moving account of one man’s journey from stereotype to truth.

Joel Derfner is a knitter, an aerobics instructor, a cheerleader, a go-go dancer, and a musical theater composer, but when he realizes one day that he’s a walking gay cliché he embarks on a quest for deeper meaning. A very, very funny quest for deeper meaning. And whether he’s confronting the demons of his past at a GLBT summer camp, using the Internet to “meet” men–many, many men–or going undercover to a conference of ex-gays, he discovers that what he’s looking for–and sometimes even finds, hidden underneath the surface of everyday life–is his own identity. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, yet with its own particular flair, Swish is a story told with not just wit but humor; not just candor but honesty; and not just compassion but humanity.

More Spotlights at my website: http://www.elisarolle.com/, My Lists/Gay Novels

This journal is friends only. This entry was originally posted at http://reviews-and-ramblings.dreamwidth.org/4128810.html. If you are not friends on this journal, Please comment there using OpenID.
Tags: author: joel derfner, in the spotlight
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for friends only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments