elisa_rolle (elisa_rolle) wrote,
elisa_rolle
elisa_rolle

2014 Rainbow Awards Submission: On Archimedes Street

Gay Romantic Comedy
On Archimedes Street by Jefferson Parrish
Paperback: 350 pages
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (November 20, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1627982248
ISBN-13: 978-1627982245
Amazon: On Archimedes Street
Amazon Kindle: On Archimedes Street

Just across the river from New Orleans, people cook, eat, ply their trades, pursue their hobbies, and live out their lives in the insulated bubble of Archimedes Street, lined with centuries-old live oaks. Honoria Abbott and Rita Simmons, Redemptorist professors and neighbors, are the salty matriarchs who rule the roost in this small fiefdom. Connoisseurs of M/M romance and aspiring matchmakers, they hatch a plot to awaken two of Honoria’s students to each other's charms. The first step is to make Dutch and Flip roommates in Rita's shotgun-double apartment.

Dutch Abbott, a coddled, narcissistic rich boy, is drawn to the down-to-earth Flip, a transfer student with good looks and a pugnacious attitude. Secure in his self-esteem, Flip Abbott starts to question everything he ever believed about himself after he meets the arrogant but undeniably brilliant Dutch.

Little do Honoria and Rita know that their matchmaking will swirl Archimedes Street into the eye of a domestic hurricane, complete with lost cats, teenage longing, shrewd trading of sexual favors, fierce culinary competition, and environmental activism sprinkled with a little white magic.

Charities Donation program progress:
303$ Albert Kennedy Trust: http://www.akt.org.uk/
965$ Ali Forney Center: www.aliforneycenter.org/
25$ Audre Lorde Project: http://alp.org/
25$ BiNet US: http://www.binetusa.org/
75$ CARE: careprogram.org/
100$ The Center Colorado: http://www.glbtcolorado.org/
392$ COLORS: www.colorsyouth.org/
80$ Covenant: www.covenanthouseno.org/
75$ Diversity Role Models: http://www.diversityrolemodels.org/
25$ The Diversity Center: http://diversitycenter.org/
317$ Galop: www.galop.org.uk/
150$ GLYS: http://www.glyswny.org/
100$ Human Rights Campaign: http://www.hrc.org/
50$ Huntsville GLBT Advocacy & Youth Services: http://www.glbtays.org/
75$ It Gets Better: http://www.itgetsbetter.org/
100$ Inland Northwest LGBT Center: www.thelgbtcenter.org/
235$ Lambda Legal: www.lambdalegal.org/
50$ Lambert House: www.lamberthouse.org/
50$ Lancaster LGBT Center: http://www.centralpalgbtcenter.org/
50$ LEAP: http://www.glbtleap.org/
462$ Lost-n-Found Youth: www.lost-n-found.org/
130$ Moveable Feast: http://www.mfeast.org/
25$ Odyssey Youth Center: www.odysseyyouth.org/
25$ Out Youth: outyouth.org/
100$ PFLAG: community.pflag.org/
175$ Point Foundation: www.pointfoundation.org/
100$ Ruth Ellis Center: http://www.ruthelliscenter.org/
600$ SAGE: giveto.sageusa.org/
25$ Terrence Higgins Trust: www.tht.org.uk/
280$ The Trevor Project: www.thetrevorproject.org/
160$ UCAN: www.ucanchicago.org/
25$ WayGay: http://www.waygay.org/
200$ You Can Play: http://youcanplayproject.org/
50$ YouthCare: www.youthcare.org/
997$ Other Funds
TOTAL: 6596$

* more than 150$ is a direct donation from a supporter of the Rainbow Awards who isn't submitting; while some authors were more than generous, arriving to donate 5 times the suggested amount, being the submission fee a non mandatory and voluntary direct donation, we were struggling to raise the same amount as last year and there is who decided to cover part of it. I thank you for all you are doing, and if you wish to donate to the above links, please drop me a note with your donation and I will update the total.

2014 Rainbow Awards Guidelines: reviews-and-ramblings.dreamwidth.org/4162490.html

This journal is friends only. This entry was originally posted at http://reviews-and-ramblings.dreamwidth.org/4379550.html. If you are not friends on this journal, Please comment there using OpenID.
Tags: rainbow awards 2014
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for friends only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments