elisa_rolle (elisa_rolle) wrote,
elisa_rolle
elisa_rolle

Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Odd One Out by Nic Stone

Odd One Out

"Phenomenal dialog, great character develoment. Good, strong pacing. The only element that cost this book a bit of credability is the slight contrivance of the plot toward end of book, which is clumsy and risks the charge of being biphobic by accident, which it isn’t. Coop and Jupe got right up to the moral choice, the edge of the envelope, and the only one who met the challenge was the one character who was actually true to herself, Rae. Still, the overall book is entertaining and introduces issues that are being dealt with on a daily basis by younger LGBTQI folks. The author has abundant talent and a golden ear for dialog."

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven-years-old. She's his partner-in-crime and other half. But lately, Cooper can't ignore he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter.

When Rae Chin moves to town she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with pariah, but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him...and her.

Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Rae starts dating Cooper, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.

One story. Three sides. No easy answers.


This journal is friends only. This entry was originally posted at https://reviews-and-ramblings.dreamwidth.org/5314083.html. If you are not friends on this journal, Please comment there using OpenID.
Tags: rainbow awards 2018-2019
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for friends only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments